The Velicept Therapeutics Scientific Advisory Board comprises some of the world’s foremost thought leaders in urology and pharmacology.

Alan J. Wein, M.D., Ph.D. (Hon.)
Chair, Department of Urology, University of Pennsylvania

Dr. Alan J. Wein completed his premedical education at Princeton University in 1962 and graduated from the University of Pennsylvania Medical School in 1966. He was one of the founding members of the Society of Urologic Oncology and was elected to membership in the American Society of Clinical Oncology and the Society of Surgical Oncology.

He serves as co-chair on the International Consultation for both urinary incontinence and BPH. He received the Lifetime Achievement Award of the Urodynamics Society, the F. Brantley Scott Award of the American Foundation for Urologic Diseases; and the High Hampton Young, Distinguished Service, and Distinguished Contribution Awards from the American Urological Association. He was awarded an honorary Ph.D. from the University of Patras, Greece in 2005.

Dr. Wein is currently a specialty society representative to the Board of Governors and on the Advisory Council for Urology for the American College of Surgeons.

Roger R. Dmochowski, M.D.
Department of Urology, Vanderbilt University

Dr. Roger R. Dmochowski is a professor in the Department of Urology at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee, and a clinical assistant professor in surgery at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences in Bethesda, Maryland.

He has published more than 85 articles and book chapters, 200 abstracts, and has given over 100 presentations at various national and international meetings. He serves on the editorial board for the World Journal of Urology, Neurourology and Urodynamics, International Journal of Urogynecology, and the American Urological Association Office of Education CD-ROM Series, and as a reviewer for the Journal of Urology and Urology.

Dr. Dmochowski is a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons and a member of the American Urological Association and International Continence Society. His current research interests are outcomes of incontinence therapies with a particular emphasis on quality of life issues.

Martin C. Michel, M.D., Ph.D.
University Medical Center of Johannes Gutenberg, University of Mainz, Germany

Dr. Martin C. Michel is a Global Head of Product & Pipeline Scientific Support at Boehringer Ingelheim, and has been Professor and Head of the Department of Pharmacology & Pharmacotherapy at the Academic Medical Centre of the University of Amsterdam in Amsterdam, The Netherlands. He has published more than 400 peer-reviewed scientific articles and holds nine patents on autonomic nervous system receptors and sphingolipids in the cardiovascular and urogenital system.

Peter K. Sand, M.D.
University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine

Dr. Sand is a clinical professor in obstetrics and gynecology at the University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine and director of the Division of Urogynecology and Reconstructive Surgery.

He is a national authority on the evaluation and treatment of lower urinary tract problems in women and a recognized expert on pelvic surgery.

Dr. Sand has over 100 scientific publications in the medical literature, is the editor of three textbooks on Urodynamics and the Evaluation of Female Incontinence and currently serves as the secretary/treasurer of the International Urogynecologic Association and Associate Editor of the International Urogynecology Journal.

Dr. Sand is also director of the Evanston Continence Center and the Continence Center at Stone Medical Building.

David R. Staskin, M.D.
Department of Urology, Tufts University

Dr. Staskin is an associate professor of urology at Tufts University. He formerly held similar positions at New York Presbyterian Hospital-Cornell and Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center-Harvard.

Dr. Staskin has an international reputation in lower urinary tract pharmacology and devices. He has specific expertise in pharmaceuticals used to treat overactive bladder and stress incontinence.

He is a former member of HHS-AHCPR and a Section Chairperson of ICI-WHO. He has held advisory positions with numerous pharmaceutical and medical device companies.